Writing an Interactive iBook

I’ve spent the last month working on writing an interactive iBook for my Young Composers curriculum. It has been an eye opening process so far. I’m loving using iBooks Author and I think that it is a tool that educators will be able to get a lot of mileage out of for a long time. 

If you wanted amend what iBA can do with a powerful tool for making interactive html widgets check out a program called Hype. It allows for drag-drop html editing. 

iBooks Author has some powerful widgets for creating quizzes but there is no way currently for students to submit there results to a teacher. I’ve found a third party solution called ibooks-widgets.  They offer a widget where teachers can make a quiz, embed it in the ibook. After students complete the quiz them can email the results directly to the teacher. 

I’m about half way at this point and I’m excited as I was at the beginning to see this project to it’s completion. 

Leave a Reply

